DIY / Inspire

3 Reasons Why People Should “Do It Themselves”

I’m a guy, and I like DIY projects.  Duct tape crafts, glass etching, and sewing are just some DIY projects I have experience in.  A lot of people have this notion that the term “DIY” denotes femininity.

I feel that should be changed.

Gender role in today’s society is whole other topic.  But here are 3 reasons why people (Both guys and girls) should do more DIY projects:

1) DIY projects can be fun

First of all DIY projects are just straight fun.

Just kidding.

Sometimes it’s monotonous, but that can be a good aspect to it.  Most of the time when I do projects, I am alone.  I don’t think it’s sad or anything.  It’s a time to think.  Thinking time during DIY projects is best when doing the monotonous parts.

If you don’t like to think, you don’t have to do DIY projects alone.  There are times when people can come together and do a collaborative project.

My friend and I made chicken onesies. These also won me a pajama party. :3

My friend and I made chicken onesies. These also won me a pajama party. :3

Depending on how expansive the project is, you’ll have some time with your fellow collaborators.  Spend this time to talk about family, relationships, school, work, or just life.  If your significant other is into artsy-fartsy stuff, maybe you can spend time together making cute stuff.

After completing a successful project, you always get two things out of it: satisfaction of a job well done and a unique product.

2) You can make unique, personalized gifts

For Christmas 2012, I made 22 personalized pillows for my family and close friends.

I made these personalized pillows for my family and close friends

I made these personalized pillows for my family and close friends

There are only some of the 22 in the picture.  Even though it’s been a more than a year, I still see that they put that pillow to use!

This shows the power of a name.  People love their own name.

“Names are the sweetest and most important sound in any language.” -Dale Carnegie

From experience, people are less likely to trash a personalized gift.  And it is near impossible to re-gift it.

A personalized gift is made for a specific person in mind.  These personalized gifts express thoughtfulness while keeping costs low.

3) You can make less expensive products and gifts

I love this reason.

Why pay for a whole tie when you can just pay for the fabric?  Of course there’s a complication with quality and brand, but you can personalize it to compensate.

For Christmas 2014, I made gifts for 97 people.  97.  Imagine spending at least $10 per person (store-bought gifts are rarely that cheap).  That’s at least $970 spent on Christmas gifts.  $970.

If you received one of my personalized glasses, please do not be alarmed.  I spent time and energy making your gift with you in mind. ❤

But I only spent around $140 total on all 97 gifts. Can you say ballin’ on a budget?  That comes out to around $1.44 per gift.  These are cool gifts too!

This personalized glass is for my fraternity twin

This personalized glass is for my fraternity twin

Amazed? That is the power of DIY gifts.

Vox tua, et de ideis

