Inspire

Two Dollar Tuesdays with Morrie

One of my Resolutions was to read 6 books.  An easy task.  And just recently, I finished reading Tuesdays with Morrie (By the way, I highly recommend it).  It is an inspirational book with so much knowledge about life.  For every event this past week, no matter the significance, I tried to somehow incorporate a lesson from Morrie.  This past Tuesday, I came upon a revelation that connected alcohol and drinking to a lesson from Morrie.

For those that don’t know, Tuesdays are weekly holidays for 21+ college kids.  Well, at least for my alma mater.  Combine college students looking for social approval with a popular venue and inexpensive alcohol and that is Two Dollar Tuesday.  Both Tres, which is shorthand for Tres Gringos Cabo Cantina, and SJ Bar and Grill celebrate Two Dollar Tuesdays, but Tres is definitely more popular.  Tres has a 20 minute line wait, whereas SJBG has empty tables and plenty of bar space.  Aside from the venue, the drinks are cheap: $2 for a shot, hence the name.  The price is perfect for broke college students.  You can say these students are all Tuesday people.

This past Tuesday, I was invited to celebrate my friend’s achievement of consuming no alcohol for 40 days.  An achievement worth drinking to.  So, of course we went to Tres that night.

After our fill of inexpensive alcohol, the inevitable case of the “drunchies” (drunk munchies) falls upon all of us.  My revelation happens around 3:00AM at a pho noodle restaurant (Pho Mai is our go-to drunchie place).

I’m sitting there watching my friend struggle as she attempts to shovel noodles with her chopsticks.  At this point, my other friend and I helped her from the bar to the car, during the car ride to the pho restaurant, and walking to the actual restaurant.  Later, we helped her from the restaurant to the car and back to her place.

But it dawned on me that drunk people are like kids (babies if they get totally inebriated).  Their speech is gibberish.  They can’t walk by themselves.  You have to constantly watch them just in case they do something stupid.  If you care for the wellbeing of your friend, you would have to take care of them.

As I situated a plastic bag near my friend, I thought of Morrie (Spoilers coming up).  At first, Morrie was afraid of the time when he becomes fully dependent on others.  Later on, he embraces it because it allowed him to feel the lost unconditional love of his childhood years.

Why do people drink?

Scientifically, alcohol feels good because it increases the release of dopamine, the feel-good hormone.  There is also a social aspect of it as well.  A person might feel better about his or her own social life because of the interactions with people under the influence.

But there may be another reason.  Morrie’s reason.  What if I told you people like to get drunk because they want to experience that unconditional love from their childhood?

Mindblown.

It’s only that theory that one should humor, but think about it.  It is more common now that both parents (the single parent trend is also increasing) are working professionals.  As this trend increases, children are being raised by televisions or other individuals who cannot provide that unconditional love.  I’m not saying I live in a generation of alcoholics.  I’m saying that the reason some of us drink may be to revisit/redo our past.

In the end, whether we drink for pleasure, social interactions, or time-travel, we should all drink responsibly.

Vox tua, et de ideis

