DIY / Gift

Customized Pillows as Gifts

Eric Pillow

This is a simple gift.  This is easily one of my go-to gifts.  It’s functional and it has both your favorite colors and your name.  Handmade gifts are truly some of the best gifts.  I first made these for my family back in 2012.  Even today I still make them for close friends on special occasions.

Materials:

  • Fleece
  • Stuffing
  • Scissors
  • Needle and Thread
  • Sewing Machine (Optional but recommended)
  • Chalk or Pen or Marker (Chalk preferred)
  • Patience

Once again, I am very vague in the quantity of materials.  The amount of fleece and stuffing depends on how big you want the pillow to be.  A yard of two different colors is plenty for one pillow.  The pillows are essentially two pieces of cloth with one being decorated.  So remember to find out your friend’s favorite colors!

IMG_20140426_164008IMG_20140426_162239

I highly suggest sketching it out first.  Make sure the two main pieces of cloth are similar in size.  Also keep in mind the people you are making these for.  When I was making these for my cousins, I had to make sure all the pillows were similar in size.  I didn’t want any of my younger cousins to think they were less loved by me because his or her pillow was smaller than the others.

 IMG_20140426_162346

Determine which side will have the decorations/name on.  In the example, my two main pieces of cloth are green and white.  The white piece has my friend’s name in green.

IMG_20140426_163904IMG_20140426_182250

Pin and stitch any decorations or names you have on the pillow.  I’ve been using a zig-zag stitch on the machine, and I think it looks great.

IMG_20140426_182433IMG_20140426_183142

Match the completed front and back pieces together.  Remember to place them right side in.  Then sew the sides but not completely closed.  I like to leave a little opening on the bottom of the pillow.

IMG_20140426_183409

Pull the pillow inside out and add stuffing to it.  Cut out a little heart from the scraps and add that in as well.  It’s kind of like what they do at Build-A-Bear.  Love in every stitch.

IMG_20140426_184717

After you have stuffed the pillow, the last thing to do is to sew it shut.  I never learned how to ladder stitch back in 2012.  I highly suggest learning to hand stitch the bottom closed.

Eric Pillow

And there is the finished product.  I love giving these away as presents.  I get so happy when I see the pillows I gave in 2012 still being used.  Try it out.

christmas eve 2012 de banquet

Vox tua, et de ideis

